Minimum Wage Increase – The Massachusetts Department of Labor has increased the state minimum wage to $13.50 per hour and the minimum base wage for tipped employees to $5.55 per hour, effective January 1, 2021.
Premium Pay Decrease – The premium pay for working Sunday, Memorial Day, Juneteenth, Independence Day and Labor Day will be reduced to 1.2 times an employee’s regular rate, also effective January 1, 2021. However, the premium pay for working on New Year’s Day, Columbus Day and Veterans Day will remain at 1.5 times an employee’s regular rate.
Paid Family and Medical Leave (PFML) – The PFML notice has also been revised. The updated notice clarifies that for a worker to qualify as a covered individual under PFML, this worker must also be eligible for unemployment in Massachusetts. The updated notice also outlines certain job protections that do not apply to self-employed individuals.
State law requires all employers to post the Massachusetts Wage & Hour Laws poster in the workplace. Here some options for posters outlining changes in Massachusetts minimum wage through January 1, 2023. If needed, please update your workplace posting accordingly.